Home Page

Assessment & Testing

The National Curriculum sets out what children should learn between the ages of 5 and 16 in both primary and secondary schools. In primary schools children study 10 subjects as well as Religious Education. They are: English, Mathematics, Science, Computing, Art, Design & Technology, Geography, History, Music, Modern Foreign Language and Physical Education.


Each subject has been divided into a set of topics called Attainment Targets. For example, number and algebra is one of the targets in mathematics, and English has targets such as speaking and listening, reading and writing.


The National Curriculum covers two age groups in primary schools. The first, called Key Stage 1, is for children up to the age of 7 and the second, Key Stage 2, is for children from 7 to 11.


Children’s progress in all the National Curriculum targets is measured by their teachers throughout the infant and junior years. In addition. at the end of Key Stage 1 (age 7) and Key Stage 2 (age 11). there is a system of national testing in English and Mathematics. At age 7 children’s progress will be tested in reading, writing (including spelling and handwriting) and Mathematics through a series of specially designed activities and tests administered by their teachers during the spring and summer terms. Most 11 year olds will take some short tests in English; Spelling, Punctuation & Grammar (SPAG) and Maths over a week in May. The results from the teachers’ assessments and the tasks and tests are then given to you. It is perfectly possible that the test results and the teacher assessment may not be the same. Some children for example, perform better or less well in tests than they do in their classroom work.

Testing Arrangements 


End of key stage Teacher Assessment judgements are based on achievement in all aspects of the subject over the whole key stage.


Teacher Assessment judgements are based on a variety of evidence (oral, written, observed) in a range of contexts on a number of occasions.


Teacher Assessment is an integral and ongoing part of everyday classroom work.


Teacher Assessment identifies achievements over time.

Continuous Teacher Assessment informs future learning by identifying areas for development.  Its major purpose is to recognise achievement and define next steps.

Test results are based on short tests which only sample some aspects of the subject.


Tests are structured, written assessments giving limited opportunities for children to demonstrate what they know, can do and understand.


Tests are externally timetabled.  Some children may perform better or less well in timed tests than they do in their everyday classroom work.

Tests are a snapshot of attainment at a particular moment in time.


The Tests are designed to establish, at ages 7 and 11, how children are progressing against national targets.


KS2 Data