Home Page

Child Protection

Child Protection


Who is responsible for Child protection in the school?

At Lady Joanna Thornhill Primary School, everyone is responsible for ensuring and maintaining the high standards of pupil behaviour, safety and welfare that we have worked so hard to achieve.

Overall responsibility for child protection in our school is led by our Headteacher,  Rachael Foster who is a trained and experienced Designated Safeguarding Leader (DSL). Richard Pomfrett, Amanda Butler and Laura Murphy are also qualified and are our Deputy Safeguarding Leaders


Allegations of abuse made against staff

Our Governing body have ensured that there are procedures in place to handle allegations against staff. Such allegations would be referred to the Local Area Designated Officer team on 03000 410 888 or


There are procedures in place to make a referral to the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) if a person in regulated activity has been dismissed or removed due to child protection concerns, or would have been had they not resigned.  We recognise that this is a legal duty and that failure to refer when the criteria are met is a criminal offence. We are guided by the procedures and principles outlined within the Department for Education document Keeping Children Safe in Education, September 2020.‚Äč



The Child Protection and Welfare Team consist of the following members of staff:

  • Rachael Foster (Headteacher)

  • Richard Pomfrett (Deputy Headteacher)

  • Amanda Butler (Assistant Head EYFS and KS1)

  • Laura Murphy (Assistant Head Lower KS2)

  • Sarah Cox (Attendance Officer)

  • Alex Devlin (SENCO/Inclusion Manager)


  • If you are concerned about a child….


  • Confidential advice and help for children and/or young people

  • Free calls that do not appear on your phone bill

  • Tel: 0800 1111



  • CEOPS:
  • On line support for parents who are worried about a child

  • Support and advice around relationships and on line safety





Child Protection policy