Lady Joanna Thornhill (Endowed) Primary School

Learning for the Head, Heart and Hand


Governor Information

The Lady Joanna Thornhill (Endowed) Primary School’s Governing Body is made up of nine governors including the Headteacher Ms Foster and staff governor Mrs Ward.  The Governing Body has three key functions- ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction, holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils and overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent. 


The Governing Body works on the ‘circle model’ and meets at least six times a year.  In addition to our Full Governing Body meetings, we have a number of working groups and committees.  Please do take the time to read our termly newsletters for an update as to what the Governing Body have been doing. 


Our Chair of Governors is Ms R Chan, she can be contacted by email at


We currently have a vacancy for a Governor who has a specialism in SEND and ideally someone who is not a parent of a child at the school.  If you or someone you know anyone is interested in the role, please do not hesitate to email the Chair of Governors to arrange a confidential, no obligation discussion.  The Governing Body is committed to equality, diversity and inclusion, and welcomes applicants from all backgrounds, regardless of ethnicity, race, sex, age, religion or belief, sexual orientation, gender reassignment, marriage or civil partnership. 



Governors 2022-3

Chair of Governors, Curriculum and SEND governor: Rachel Chan (Foundation) 

Vice Chair and Finance Monitoring Pair: Steve Lloyd (Local Authority) 

Finance Monitoring Pair: Eloise Brown (Co-opted) 

Curriculum, Reading, Phonics and Well-Being Governor: Matt Toombs (Co-opted) 

Safeguarding, Health and Safety Governor: Hannah Rowe (Co-opted) 

Pupil Premium, Covid Premium, Sports Premium Governor: James Coumbe (Parent) 

Early Years and Phonics Governor: Rob Muskett (Parent) 

Staff Governor: Sharon Ward 

Headteacher: Rachael Foster 

Governing Board annual Governance Statement

Instrument of Governance March 21

GOVERNING BOARD ROLES & Terms of Office Nov 21